User Name:
print-friendly version

Advisory Council

Appointed by the Board of Directors, the Advisory Council provides feedback and advice to the Board and staff on strategic questions and issues affecting the Society. It is composed of former ASP board members, leaders in the astronomy research and astronomy education communities, and other friends of the ASP. Members are asked to serve for a term of three years, and may be reappointed.

Current Membership as of December 1, 2009

Frank N. Bash
The University of Texas at Austin (emeritus professor)

Jeanne Bishop
Westlake Schools Planetarium, Ohio

Terry Brennan

Cindy Brennan, MD

Bruce Carney
Provost, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Rick Fienberg
American Astronomical Society

Alex Filippenko
Department of Astronomy
University of California, Berkeley

Catharine D. Garmany
National Optical Astronomy Observatory

Marc Gineris
Incyte Capital Holdings
Dallas, TX

Russ Harding (retired educator)

Mary Kay Hemenway
University of Texas at Austin

Jim Hesser
Director, Dominion Astrophysical Observatory, Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics, National Research Council of Canada

William E. Howard III (retired)

Robert P. Kraft
Astronomer/Professor emeritus
UCO/Lick Observatory
University of California, Santa Cruz

Terry Mann
President, Astronomical League

John R. Percy
Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics, and of Science Education
University of Toronto

Jeffrey D. Rosendhal (retired)

Wayne Rosing
Las Cumbres Observatory

Bob Thomason (retired business executive)

Virginia Trimble
University of California, Irvine
Las Cumbres Observatory

Harold F. Weaver
Professor of Astronomy Emeritus
University of California, Berkeley

Al Whaley
Co-Founder Internet Travel Network