User Name:
print-friendly version

ASP News

2010 Bruce Medal Recipient Announced

March 2010 – The Astronomical Society of the Pacific announces that Dr. Gerry Neugebauer has been awarded the 2010 Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal for lifetime achievement in astronomy.  More »


2009 Bok Award Recipients Announced

July 2009 – The Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP) presented Priscilla and Bart Bok Awards to two high School Seniors at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair held May 10 to 15 in Reno this year.  More »


2009 ASP Award Recipients Announced

June 2009 – The Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP) announces the winners of its 2009 awards for excellence in astronomy research and education. Full Press Release.


2009 Bruce Medal Recipient Announced

May 2009 – The Astronomical Society of the Pacific announces that Dr. Frank H. Shu has been awarded the 2009 Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal for lifetime achievement in astronomy.  More »


Andrew Fraknoi Recipient of 2009 Hayward Award

March 2009 – Former ASP Executive Officer and Foothill College Astronomy Instructor Andrew Fraknoi is one of four community colleges teachers to be named recipient of the 2009 Hayward Award for Excellence in Education by the California Community College Board of Governors. The four faculty members were selected from across the state for their commitment to professional excellence in their fields as well as their contributions to their community. More »


Mary Kay Hemenway Recipient of 2009 AAS Education Prize

January 2009 – The Secretary of the ASP’s Board of Directors, Mary Kay Hemenway of the University of Texas, has been announced as the winner of the 2009 Education Prize of the American Astronomical Society, given for “outstanding contributions to the education of the public, students and/or the next generation of professional astronomers.”


ASP Appoints New Board Members

December 2008 – The ASP Board of Directors is pleased to announce the appointment of two new Board members: Cathy Langridge, Director of Retail Finance at Levi Strass & Co. in San Francisco, and Michael Gibbs, Vice President for Advancement and Assistant Professor at Capital College in Laurel, Maryland, and former Chief Advancement Officer for the ASP. Langridge and Gibbs will fill the two Board-appointed seats.


ASP Announces New Board Members

September 2008 – The ASP is pleased to announce its newest members to the ASP Board of Directors: Dr. David C. Black, President Emeritus of Universities Space Research Association (USRA) and Visiting Scientist at USRA’s Lunar and Planetary Institute; Dr. William A. Gutsch, Jr., former Chairman of the American-Hayden Planetarium in New York and former President & CEO of the Challenger Center for Space Science; and Judy Kass, the former Senior Project Director for the AAAS’s Public Understanding of Science and Technology Programs.


Suzanne Gurton Receives AANC Professional Award

August 2008 – Suzanne Gurton, the Education Manager at the Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP), has received the 2008 Professional Award, given each year by the Astronomical Association of Northern California to an astronomer who has done outstanding work in distinguishing and fostering amateur astronomy.  More »


Scott Roberts Featured in Sky & Telescope Article

March 2008 – The newest member of the ASP Board of Directors, Scott Roberts, is featured in the April, 2008 Sky & Telescope magazine in an article titled, “A Friend Indeed” written by former ASP Board member David Levy. The article highlights Roberts’ passion for brining astronomy to the public.