Buttons for donate, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube Donate to Support Science Literacy Facebook Twitter YouTube ASP logo

2005 ASP Annual Award Recipients

Klumpke-Roberts Award
Jeff Goldstein
Challenger Center for Space Science Education, USA

The Klumpke-Roberts Award was established from a bequest to the ASP by astronomer Dorothea Klumpke-Roberts (1861-1942) to recognize outstanding contributions to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy.

Jeff Goldstein is this year’s recipient. Until recently, he was Executive Vice President for Science and Education at the Challenger Center for Space Science Education. In that position he was responsible for the creation and development of national educational initiatives in support of the Center’s network of Learning Centers. Goldstein, who has just begun an exciting new astronomy and space science education effort at the Universities Space Research Association, has been principal investigator and program director on numerous national educational programs including museum and science-center exhibitions, educator-training initiatives, programs for family learning, and classroom programs for tens of thousands of grade K-12 students each year.

He served as Acting Chair of the Laboratory for Astrophysics at the National Air and Space Museum and on development teams for Museum galleries (“Where Next, Columbus?”, “Viewing the Violent Universe,” and “The Universe”) and films (the IMAX films “Cosmic Voyage,” “Blue Planet,” and “Spacefaring with Albert Einstein”); served on educational advisory boards and review committees; and chaired the NASA MIDEX Education and Public Outreach review committee. While he has given over 150 educator workshops and over seven hundred elementary through college-level presentations at schools, Goldstein’s most visible contribution to public education programs may be the scale-model Solar System—a project that he conceived and pushed through Washington bureaucracy—now located on the National Mall in Washington, DC.