AstroShop Support Resources Education Events Publications Membership News About Us Home
The Astronomical Society of the Pacific


   home > about us > awards


About Us Topics:


Board of Directors


Advisory Council


Annual Report


Donate Now


Mission Statement



arrow down


    2012 Award Winners  
    Past Award Recipients  
    Amateur Award  
    Bart Bok Award  
    Brennan Award  
    Bruce Medal  
    Emmons Award  
    Klumpke-Roberts Award  
    Las Cumbres Award  
    Muhlmann Award  
    Trumpler Award  

Become a Corporate Affiliate Partner


How to Partner With Us


Career Opportunities


Centennial History of the ASP


Presidents of the ASP


Past Officers & Board Members


SEED Grants to Scientists


Privacy Statement

arrow down

Contact Us


Bart Bok Award


AAS, ASP and IAPPP Award College Scholarships at the 2002 Intel International Science & Engineering Fair in Louisville, Kentucky

(by T. Oswalt)

Two high school students, Matthew Douglas Apau Jachowski and Harish Gautam Khandrika were presented with the 2002 Priscilla and Bart Bok Awards by the American Astronomical Society (AAS) and Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP). Their outstanding astronomical research projects were exhibited at the 53rd annual Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF), held in Louisville, Kentucky during 2-18 May 2002.

Jachowski, a 16-year-old from Maui High School in Kahului, Hawaii, won the AAS-ASP Bok First Place Award and a $5000 scholarship his project "Effect of Observation Timing on Initial Orbit Determination Accuracy." Jachowski investigated how the precision of orbital elements determined for several asteroids are affected by the times observations are gathered and by the computational techniques used. Jachowski's teacher/sponsor was Keith Imada.

Khandrika, 14, from La Jolla High School in La Jolla, California, won the AAS-ASP Bok Second Place Award and a $3000 scholarship his project "Evidence for Decay of 44Titanium to 44Calcium in Supernova Remnant Cassiopeia A." Using Compton Gamma Ray Observatory data, Khandrika measured the isotopic abundances in Cass A and found evidence for the formation and decay of 44Ti, indicating that the stellar remnant is a neutron star, rather than a black hole. Khandrika's teacher/sponsor was Martin Teachworth.

The AAS-ASP judging team consisted of Drs. Terry Oswalt of the Florida Institute of Technology, Douglas Hall of Vanderbilt University and Jay White of Rhodes College. Oswalt presented the Bok Awards on behalf of the AAS and ASP during the Special Awards ceremonies, held at the Louisville Convention Center on Thursday evening, May 16th.

The AAS, ASP and IAPPP have co-sponsored special awards in astronomy at the annual ISEF since 1991.











home | about us | news | membership | publications

events | education | resources | support | astroshop | search

Privacy & Legal Statements | Site Index | Contact Us

Copyright ©2001-2012 Astronomical Society of the Pacific