User Name:
print-friendly version

Archive for 2012

How It Began: A Time-Traveler’s Guide to the Universe

Chris Impey
W. W. Norton & Company 2012, ISBN: 978-0393080025, Hardcover $27.95

In this vibrant, eye-opening tour of milestones in the history of our universe, Chris Impey guides us through space and time, leading us from the familiar sights of the night sky to the dazzlingly strange aftermath of the Big Bang.

What if we could look into space and see not only our place in the universe but also how we came to be here? As it happens, we can. Because it takes time for light to travel, we see more and more distant regions of the universe as they were in the successively greater past. Impey uses this concept—”look-back time”—to take us on an intergalactic tour that is simultaneously out in space and back in time. Performing a type of cosmic archaeology, Impey brilliantly describes the astronomical clues that scientists have used to solve fascinating mysteries about the origins and development of our universe.


Priscilla and Bart Bok Awards Announced

June 2012 – Two high school students from Texas and Louisiana are the winners of the 2012 Priscilla and Bart Bok Awards for their astronomy projects presented at the Intel Science and Engineering Fair in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in May. The awards were presented on May 18 by the Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP) in partnership with the American Astronomical Society (AAS), supported by funding from the National Science Foundation (NSF).  More »


2012 ASP Award Winners Announced

June 2012 – The Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP) today announces the winners of its 2012 awards for excellence in astronomy research and education.

Full Press Release.


Astronomical Society of the Pacific Honors Dr. Sandra Moore Faber with Prestigious Bruce Gold Medal Award

May 2012 – The Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP), one of the oldest and most respected astronomy societies in the U.S., has announced that Dr. Sandra Moore Faber is the 2012 recipient of its Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal. Dr. Faber, of the University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC), is recognized for her lifetime achievements in astronomical research. More »