User Name:
print-friendly version

Richard H. Emmons Award for Excellence in College Astronomy Teaching

Past Emmons Award recipients

Nomination Guidelines


The Richard H. Emmons Award of the ASP is awarded biennually to an individual demonstrating outstanding achievement in the teaching of college-level introductory astronomy for non-science majors.


Nominees must be teachers of college-level introductory astronomy for non-science majors.


Nominations are solicited from colleagues, students, or others familiar with or knowledgeable of the nominee’s achievements. Nominations may be made by anyone except the nominee or someone from the nominee’s family. The nominator should submit a resume or CV of the nominee, along with a letter of no more than two pages explaining in detail the specific contributions and achievements of the nominee that merit the Award. In addition to the nomination letter, we request that two independent letters of support (also no more than two pages each), be submitted for each nomination. All nominations will be considered for three consecutive award cycles — the year in which the nomination is made and the two following years. After the third year a completely new nomination of the individual may be submitted.

Due Date

The Richard H. Emmons Award, beginning in 2019, will be awarded biennially.

For a new nomination to be considered in any particular year, all nomination documents must be received by the Astronomical Society of the Pacific by March 1 of that year.

Contact awards {at} if you have any questions or need more information.


All nominations are reviewed by the Awards Committee appointed by the Board of Directors of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific. The Awards Committee recommends a recipient of the Award to the Board of Directors, which then makes the final selection. The Award recipient will be notified in the summer of the award year. If, in the opinion of the Awards Committee, none of the nominees is sufficiently outstanding, or if there are an insufficient number of nominations, the Award will not be given for the year in question.

The Award

The Award includes a $500 cash award and a plaque to be presented at the ASP Awards Dinner.